Loading... Please wait...

Our Newsletter


Reviews

What people are saying!

 

Beautiful build, beautiful tone, great service 

 

Posted by Dono on 14th Jul 2014

 

My new Memphis 1x12 is a work of art in terms of its perfect construction and its beautiful tone. It makes every amp I own (including SFPR, BFPR, BFVR, SFDR, BF Bassman) and every speaker I own (Weber, Emi, Celestion, Jensen, etc.) sound great. 

My Memphis 1x12 is a terrific value to be sure. But if you seek superior materials, elegant design, top-notch craftsmanship, and a gorgeous, responsive tone in a solid wood cabinet, you will not find a better product regardless of price. And Paul is a real pleasure to deal with in all respects. Highest recommendation.

 

 

Music Man RD50 with a Memphis 1x12 loaded with a Cannabis Rex!

Posted by Jon C on 9th Jul 2014

"I had a combo version but the cabinet is too small sounded compressed ....sort of flat ..but thru your 1 12" Memphis Rocket Cabinet the amp really shined ! 
Nite & Day!"

 

Model C-4x10 Demo 

 Posted by Unknown on 16th Jun 2014

 First time buyer from Rocket Cab. Have had about a dozen custom open-back pine cabs made over the years by Mather, Newell, others. The Rocket Cab is their equal. The attention to detail -- Tolex, internal staining, baffle fit, installation of hardware -- is outstanding. One detail I especially appreciate is the use of old style Fender corners which require precise countersinking for proper fit. Some cabinet makers have moved on to flush mount corners. The Rocket Cab is 100% old school. I would not hesitate to use Rocket Cab for custom work in the future. Also,a pleasure to work with. (Also, this was a "demo" unit, but I could not find a single scratch on it.)

 

 

the cab I was looking for 

 Posted by TR on 13th Jun 2014

 I had been looking for a 2x10 4 ohm cab for my bandmaster for awhile and came across Paul and Rocket Cab. I have a 2x12 I'm running now and was wanting a 2x10 option. Excellent fit and finish and customer service is top notch

 

 

Excellent Customer Service/Workmanship 

 Posted by Steve R. on 12th Jun 2014

 After exhaustively researching where to get a custom cabinet built I found Rocket Cabs and Paul Robison.


I wanted a pine construction with neodymium speakers and all appointments to match my Blackstar head. Paul took a lot of time on the phone and email making sure the details were correct and made many suggestions along the way.

His prices are very fair and the workmanship I find top notch. This cabinet sounds and looks great! I am very pleased and expect to work with him again in the near future on an second build.

 

 

Replacement speaker baffle 

 Posted by Unknown on 9th Apr 2014

 Paul was very prompt and courteous. Product looks great and fits like a glove...5 stars!

 

 Chicago Custom 1x12 w/aged cloth  

Posted by Stephen on 2nd Apr 2014

 Even before my decision to order from Paul, he couldn't have been more helpful and patient. Not only with the cab, but with input on speakers I was considering as well. No hard sell whatsoever, just helpful all the way. As for the cabinet, I don't see how it could be better, and it is feather-light unloaded, well built, with great attention to detail, and sounds great. If you're considering an order, don't even hesitate.

 

 Custom 1x15 "Fender blackface design 
Posted by Aaron Harris on 15th Mar 2014

 I will try to keep this short and sweet.
1. Outstanding customer service...seriously, the best I have ever received in regards to "musical instruments and gear". 
2. Beautiful fit and finish to the cabinets...you will not find better. 
3. Phenomenal sound...these cabinets will make you wish you had bought one YEARS AGO.
Do yourself a favor and order one of these cabs right now...you will not regret it.

 

 Exceptionally Well Built Cabinet 

Posted by Jim Laxton on 3rd Mar 2014

Paul was great to work with. I told him what speakers I was using, and what I wanted to accomplish, and he suggested the cabinet. He made the back of the cabinet where it can be either open or closed. He used t-nuts, such that I don't have to worry about stripping out wood screws, when I change the back pieces. The workmanship on this cabinet is great. I haven't found anything that could have been done better, and it sounds great!!

 

"B" Stock 

Posted by Unknown on 19th Feb 2014

This cabinet was everything that I expected and more. It is handsome, well-built, solid, and produces that sound that only comes from all-pine, with a floating baffle. I built my last cabinet, and the surpasses that one in quality of craftsmanship. If you have ever made one of these, you could appreciate the effort. And when paired with the cost, Rocket Cab is a real value. My cabinet was supposed to be blemished, but I can't find it!! Great job!

 

2x10 bass cabinet that fit our needs. 

Posted by Mike on 4th Feb 2014

I love doing business with Paul! He is quick to respond to questions and builds a high quality product that looks and sounds great. Paul built two 1x12 guitar that I use with a Suhr 30 watt badger (matching). I loved them so much that I ordered a bass cab to surprise my bass player. What more can I say!
The 2x10 bass cab rocks!
Thanks again Paul!!

 

Great Looks, Great Build, Great Value 

Posted by BZ on 2nd Feb 2014

I needed a matching 1x12" for a new amp, and this fits the bill exactly. The sound is great, and the craftsmanship is fantastic. However the best thing is the weight; after lugging an oversize 2x12" this cab is a dream. Highly recommended.

 

Rocket Cab Memphis 1x12 

Posted by Unknown on 1st Feb 2014

Looks great, smells great and sounds amazing!!! Loaded with a Celestion Gold, this is quickly becoming the go to cab of my studio. Excellent craftsmanship, good price and fast turn around! 5 stars all around!

 

2x12 Celestion Vintage 30's closed back fixed baffle. 

Posted by Beacon Tube Amps on 31st Dec 2013

Great looking and sounding cab. My first and last call for any cabinet work!

 

Custom Tweed 1x12 pine extension cabinet 

Posted by Chris Imber on 25th Dec 2013

Paul was a pleasure to deal with and his product is first-rate. Excellent construction and sound. Fast turnaround and excellent communication step by step from beginning to delivery follow-up



Memphis 1x12 with Celestion Gold 

I couldn't be more pleased with the Memphis Cab! The build quality is excellent, and it's evident that Paul takes a lot of pride in his workmanship. The fit and finish are first rate. I've already gigged with it, and the tone I get with the Celestion Gold is so much more defined, articulate, and rich compared to my old cab. Paul is great to work with, and he gives excellent advice on custom options. I highly recommend the Memphis. Thank you Paul!

 

Superb workmanship and materials. 

Posted by Marshall Cook on 8th Oct 2013

Start to finish a 5-star experience. Great communication. Efficient process. All materials are top-of-the line. Cabinet design, workmanship, and tone are the best.

 

Memphis 1x12 Cab 

Posted by Gary on 19th Sep 2013

This cab made my already excellent sounding combo amp even better. Paul knows his stuff. Best customer service I have ever recevied as well.
Grab yourself Rocket Cab today. You will be very happy you did.

 

What a great cab! 

Posted by Donnie Kepley on 25th Aug 2013

I'm leaving my Rocket cab in the studio while I sit in front of my control room's monitors with my Dr. Z Maz Jr. or my Victoria Double Deluxe sitting next to me. 
Currently loaded with a combination of Weber speakers (a ceramic Silver Bell and an Alnico 12A150A), the Rocket sounds like what I imagine a nice vintage open back 2-12" would sound like.
The workmanship in the cabinet is top notch - beautiful solid pine that is so light! I can't imagine anyone needing to order one of these cabs with optional side handles unless they're loading some very heavy speakers.
All mounting hardware and wiring is included in a little plastic baggie, as well as a swatch of the requested tolex and grill cloth. If I had to make one suggestion, I'd suggest that this little pouch be taped or stapled inside the cab - I nearly missed mine as I was excited to hurriedly unpack my cabinet when it came in - I had to go back and look inside the box and packing to locate the baggie. And the cabinet was packed very well.
I'd been shopping for a 2-12" cab for awhile and Rocket appeared to be the best for my money. Solid high grade finger-joined pine, choice of tolex and grill cloth, quick delivery, great customer service, made in the USA - highly recommended!

 

 Posted by Beacon Tube Amps on 14 Aug 2013.

A couple months ago we ordered a modified cab for a ’59 Tweed 2x10 Super from Soundsrite Audio for our SE amp build. Somehow the measurements were wrong for the chassis cutout and we don’t know if it was due to Beacon Tube Amp’s or Soundsrite Audio’s measuring but that really doesn’t matter. The point of this post is we sent the cab back for correction and Paul didn’t like the results so he rebuilt the whole cab at his expense! In a word, the new cab is beautiful! Soundsrite is and will be our first and only call for any of our cabinet needs weather it’s a complete build or recovering. Thanks Paul Robison!

 

Great tone at an amazing price. 

Posted by Steve Storey on 6th Aug 2013

I had Rocket cabs build a Chicago 2x12 for me. This thing is incredible! My guitar buddys and I are always A/B ing gear to listen to the tonal differances. We A/B ed the Chicago 2x12 cab against my Marshall 1982 4x12 and could not beleive our ears. We all picked the Chicago cab over the Marshall 4x12. Same speakers at the same ohmage setting. The pine cab just killed it in terms of woodiness and clarity. We were shocked at the bottom end also. It had better clarity, note definition,and since it was an open back it just enveloped us in it's tone. I will never go back to a closed back cab and will never go back to birch cabs again. Pine is king!!! Thanks Paul for the great work !! I also ordered a 1x12 to go with my Orange OR15 head. Sorry orange. Rocket Cabs has got you beat here!! Thanks for helping me to achieve the best tone of my life Rocket Cabs!! Rock On!! Steve Storey. Armed and Indigo.

 

Memphis 1X12 

Posted by Unknown on 24th Jun 2013

Paul builds a very nice cabinet. He was very responsive to my questions and did everything he said he would.
The cabinet is very light and sturdy.
Thanks Paul!

 

Memphis 1x12 

Posted by Unknown on 27th Apr 2013

Paul,
I wanted to drop you a line telling how much I dig my new Rocket Cab Memphis 1X12 loaded w/ the Eminence Legend. When I pulled it out of the packing box, I couldn't believe how light it was and smell of pine was intoxicating! When I plugged my 30 watt Peavey Classic head into it, it sounded bigger and tighter than before. The workmanship is top notch! It's really beautiful and I can't thank you enough!

Mike Clinco
Studio City, CA

 

Exactly what I was looking for. 

Product: Rocket Cab Model Chicago 2x10 Custom Solid Pine Speaker Cabinet. 
Posted By: W. Marsh
After looking for a month to find someone to build me a custom 1x12 cabinet for my vintage Bandmaster head, Paul was the only one I could find who would do it at a reasonable price. Not only that, but he offered free shipping and didn't charge any extra to change the dimensions. 

Paul was great with communication. He always answered my emails right away and kept in the touch throughout the build. He even sent me a few pictures before shipping it. 

Upon receiving the cab, I was pleasantly surprised at how light it was, even with a speaker in it. Very easy to carry from gig to gig. This cab was exactly what I was looking for. It sounds and looks GREAT. The wood even had and still has that fresh cut smell. Wonderful! If you're looking for a practical, affordable solution to your custom cabinet woes, Rocket Cab is it! After gigging with it for the past few weeks, I am even more pleased and have gotten many compliments on the look and especially the tone of my rig. Very happy! 

 

 

Nice Cabinet 

Product: Rocket Cab: Chicago 2x10. IN STOCK 
Posted By: Mike
I was very impressed with both the build quality and the service. The cabinet arrived when predicted and was well-packed. The cabinet is very light, which is a plus, and workmanship is clean. I usually play an older Gibson ES 175 (yes, in a rock band), and it produces a lot of low end. So far the 2X10 seems to tame that a bit, and the cabinet also sounds very good combined with my 12 inch cabinets. 

 

 

just like it should be 

Product: Rocket Cab Memphis 1x12 Custom Solid Pine Cabinet 
Posted By: N/A
I found that the cabinet was everything it should be,,quality materials and workmanship throughout,,,,Paul was very helpful,,, 5 stars all the way,,, I would highly recomend this product,,,, 

 

 

Great sounding, lightweight cabinet 

Product: Rocket Cab: Chicago 2x10 Custom Blonde IN STOCK 
Posted By: N/A
The cabinet is very resonant and extremely lightweight. My only complaint is the rather thin back panels. 

 

 Rocket Cab Chicago 2x10 is Pure Excellence 

Posted by David Lee on 10th Mar 2013

On President's Day of 2013, I placed an order for a 2x10 speaker cab with a company I had been reading GREAT reviews about for quite some time after an unsuccessful attempt to find a long discontinued 2x10 Fender speaker cab to run in tandem with a number of my 2x12 combos. There's nothing I like better than a combination of these kind of speaker setups to give my bottom end it's rib cage vibrating goodness along with the bite and punch for the top end to shine through with the 10's. I found everything I wanted with the Rocket Cab Chicago 2x10 enclosure from Soundsrite Audio. As a bonus price for me - I ordered mine on President's Day and took advantage of free shipping due to their holiday shopping offer which saved me an additional $30, so with an excellent quality built cab and a nice discounted price - this was perfect all around!

Follow the link here from my band's website to see pictures of my cab (initially with Jensen CQ10's installed). 

www.rivercityrockets.com/soundsriteaudio.html

I have a variety of additional speakers and will in the weeks ahead be switching these out with some other configurations to tweak to my tastes and my gear setups. I am so pleased with the build quality and the tone factor of this cab that it will be a fun ton quest to enjoy along the way. Thanks very much to Soundsrite Audio for an excellent quality cab and fast shipping and communication before and well after the sale, Rare and appreciated follow through all the way around. I highly recommend these folks for all your speaker cab needs - no worries and excellent service! Rock on! Rev

Chicago 2x10 

 

Fabulous sound, great customer service! 
Posted by Bluzcat on 5th Mar 2013

 "I ordered this cab on a recommendation from a friend, who like me is a complete tone snob. I got the cab, and it looked great, but was missing one of the options that I had ordered. I emailed Paul and let him know, and he showed why he has a good reputation. He made things right, and then some. It's great to see that there are still some people that put customer service and satisfaction over all else! I equipped the cab with two Warehouse Guitar Speakers 10C/S speakers, and the cab sounds great. Not too boomy, great mids, and crystal clear highs. Can't wait till the speakers are broken in. The craftmanship of the cabinet looks great. I ended up replacing the wiring that ships with it for some higher grade audio cable, but I'm sure the standard cables are good enough for most discriminating ears."

Chicago 2x10

 

 

"This is my cab and I couldn't be more happy. I was worried how pine would sound and I'm shocked how great this cab sounds and how light it is (17.5 LBS. If your thinking of pine, go for it. Its lighter and sounds better, by a lot. The only thing this cab might not like, is metal IMHO but from blues to classic rock this thing kills. I've had Bogner, oversized 2x12, Marshall 1936 2x12 (open and closed back- custom), THD 2x12, and Mesa open back 2x12. Pauls cab is lighter and better in tone. The rich high end and crystal clear mids with no flub. I sound like a commercial but, I'm sold on Pine and Paul's craftsmanship, and customer service. Paul took the time to phone me(twice) and several e-mails, to make shure, everything would be right. This company is number one in my book, for custom pine guitar cabs."

Custom C-4

Jerry M.

"I was lucky enough to pick up a Goodsell Custom 33 head w/ verb and trem in brown ostrich tolex and I wanted a 2x12 cab to match it. I had seen the Rocket Cab ads on Craigslist, and had visited the website, I was impressed with what I saw and contacted Paul. He was great to deal with from the start, I told him what I was looking for and sent him pics of the head. He matched the ostrich tolex exactly, and the design specs came out perfectly. I absolutely love the diagonal 2x12 configuration, it truly is the perfect 2x12 in my opinion. The sound is exceptional, raw and organic with tight bass and smooth high end. Loaded with a celestion gold and a g12h30 ... they haven't fully broken in and I may play around with different speakers. One of the great things about this design, it's very easy to swap speakers. I am very pleased with my purchase and would absolutely recommend Paul and his fine workmanship to anyone ."

Custom C-4

Scott C.

" It was a pleasure dealing with Paul on my Chicago 2-12. This cab is a solid, well built tone monster that sounds fantastic. You can tell Paul takes his time and cares about his craft. Everything was cleanly put together, tolex and grille cloth are nicely done. If you are in the market for a cab look no further."

Chicago 2x12
Jeff S.

"If you are looking for a great cab for your guitar head, solid pine is the way to go. The cab I got from Paul is very solid and very well built! "

Chicago 2x12
Matt W.

"I wanted a cab to match my Fender SS 22 with blonde tolex and oxblood cloth. None of them out there were quite the right size. Paul made me a wider version of the Memphis, and it looks perfect! Sounds even better! That plus the best service I've ever had. If you are looking for a cab, this is the place to go!"

Memphis 1X12
Walt L 

"The cab is very high quality, extremely well made and sounds great too. It was affordable too. The service from Paul was top notch; he kept in touch every step of the way."

Rocket Cab Chicago 2X12
Ausin TX 

"This thing kicks some serious ASS !!!! I'm absolutely blown away at the difference pine makes. Let me know where I can rant a post about this cab. HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY !!!"

Rocket Cab Chicago 2X12
Atlanta Ga.

Thanks so much !!!"I love this cab. I have 2 WGS C10/s speakers in there for a 4ohm load at 150W handling capacity. Running a Dual Showman or a Two-Rock (85 – 100 watts) through it. 

It sounds huge and takes pedals very well. The cab is lightweight and a perfect high wattage solution without being too big and heavy. Thanks for the good communication and for meeting your quoted lead time."

Rocket Cab Chicago 2x10
California USA 

 

"I recently purchased Rocket Cab's Atlanta Model in a 1x10" configuration. It arrived on schedule and looks beautifully done exactly as expected. The finger joint work is great and using pine for the enclosure makes it much lighter than MDF. Of course, all this is moot if it doesn't sound good ... 


I hooked up a 10" and let 'er rip. I love the sound of your cab! Did a shoot out with a factory cab loaded with an identical speaker vs. the Rocket Atlanta. Even put it up against a single 12. Your cab just has a truly great tone to it. I think the 10" depth is somewhat responsible. That and the pine box.

I do demo recordings for Nashville songwriters and own or have access to some excellent amps, speakers and cabs (65 Amps Lil Elvis, Vox AC30, Alnico Blues, various other Celestions, multiple vintage Fender Blackfaces, Tweeds, etc, many guitars, etc, etc). The Rocket Atlanta cab turned a Peavey Backstage into a serious contender for a recording amp. Now, please be aware that I tweaked the dimensions a little (17"x15"x10") so your mileage may vary ... but I couldn't be more pleased. Paul, you did a great job."
Rocket Cab: Atlanta 1x10
Miami FL. 

"I got the 2x10 blond open-back Chicago cab recently and I'm very pleased with it so far! It's super light weight and sounds great. I've got it loaded with a Celestion Gold and a Greenback. The build quality is excellent and it was definitely a deal for the money it cost."
Rocket Cab: Chicago 2x10
New York New York 

 "Still loving the cab. My speaker is just starting to break in and it sounds better everyday. Best sounding and built cab I have ever owned."

Rocket Cab: model Memphis 1x12
Fort Collins CO. 

"Great cabinet & build quality. Dovetails are Mesa quality for far less $$$."
Rocket Cab: model Chicago 2x12
Austin TX. 

“Just got my speakers installed and have been playing with my new cab…Wow! The resonance is amazing! Perfect size and I love the weight, thank you”
Rocket Cab: model Chicago 2x12
Atlanta GA.

 “Beautifully built cabinet. Sounds great. Real nice.”
Rocket Cab: model Atlanta 1x10
Yonkers NY.

"Love these cabs.  Only thing I can say about them is they are nothing short of a "revelation".
Rocket Cab: pair custom model  1-15" and1-6" closed back ported
Andover KS.

"The cab is awesome, thanks again for meeting me. Best of success with the business. I'll be happy to mention you should the need arise for friends."

Rocket cab "Chicago 2x10"
Athens GA.

"Great solid 2x12, can't wait to load it with speakers. Outstanding!"
Rocket Cab: Chicago 2x12
New Albany IN
 
"Hey Paul, the cabinet looks AWESOME!  Thank you so much for everything. I can't wait to drop some ten's in it and experience sound!"
Rocket Cab: Chicago 2x10
 Lancaster CA
 
 
 
facebook.jpg